No. 3 Boyertown, No. 4 Spring-Ford qualify for PAC Field Hockey Championship

RED HILL >> There will be a new Pioneer Athletic Conference field hockey champion after Boyertown and Spring-Ford both came from behind to 3-2 wins in Tuesday night’s high school playoff semifinals Upper Perkiomen.

The No. 3 seed Bears edged the three-time defending champion PAC and No. 2 seed Upper Perkiomen 1-0 and 2-1 in the first quarter, but tied the score in the third and hit the winner of the match in the fourth at Stade de la Tribu. The No. 4 seed Spring-Ford trailed 2-0 after top seed Methacton scored twice in the first three minutes of the second half but won it on a goal with 12 seconds to go at Keeny Stadium.

The championship game will be played Thursday at 7 p.m. at Keeny Stadium.

“We realized what was at stake and came out tougher in the second half,” said Boyertown senior forward Katelyn Dulin, who scored the first two goals for the Bears and fired a straight shot on a corner play that was deflected by Alaina. Charlesworth with 8:51 remaining.

Upper Perk beat Boyertown 3-1 in last year’s championship game, but the Bears handed the Frontier Division champions Indians (12-7 overall) a 3-2 loss at the end of the month. last.

“Give credit to Upper Perk,” Boyertown coach Alicia Terrizzi said. “They came out very tough. And they have very fast advances. Thursday and in the future we have to play a full match.

The Liberty Division runners-up The Bears (15-3-1 overall) tied the game three minutes into the second period and continued to attack after taking the lead. Dulin finally dribbled past the final seconds into the corner of his own end. Goaltender Sarah Yoder helped the Bears cause with nine saves.

Both Terrizzi and Dulin believe the playoff experience gained last year — the Bears’ first since 2008 — has helped this season.

“An incredible amount,” Dulin said. “We’re used to bright lights now.”

Upper Perkiomen coach Jamie Warren thought the game was a two-half affair.

“I think we came out and played really hard in the first half,” Warren said. “Boyertown had us on our heels in the second half. In the third and fourth quarters we had too many defensive corners and they were the tipping point.

Upper Perkiomen’s season will continue in the District 1-2A playoffs, where they are currently ranked fifth.

“We’re going to reorganize and regroup,” Warren said. “The girls executed their game plan.”

Spring-Ford (11-8 overall), the second wild card, had lost to Methacton (16-3 overall) 4-0 and 3-0 in the regular season and fell behind Tuesday when Avery Schwartz (assisted by Carmela Maro) and Ceci Rehak (assisted by Elena Weychert) scored in the first three minutes of the third quarter.

But the Rams relied on their experience in close games to mount a comeback.

“We called a timeout after the second goal,” Spring-Ford coach Jennie Anderson said. “We just reminded them that we are capable of coming back. We have already done that.

Julia Corropolese got the Rams on the board before the end of the third quarter. Then Nina Scott scored less than two minutes into the fourth and again in the dying seconds. Kathryne McCreary made 12 saves for the Rams.

“We’ve learned a lot over the past few years,” Anderson said. “We lost a lot of close games and lost a few at the start of this year. They just played like we knew they could play.

Spring-Ford and Methacton each had 10 corners, and Warriors goaltenders Emily Drake and Natalie Drake combined for nine saves.

“I thought we played a great game,” Methacton coach Amanda Parrezzi said. “They capitalized on a few of our mistakes. There was a lull when we didn’t take care of the ball.

The Warriors will now prepare for the District 1-3A playoffs where they are currently ranked fifth.

“Tomorrow we start our new mindset,” Parrezzi said. “Because after tonight, we have more to prove. We are a good team. We have worked hard all year. We want to prove that we are as good as we know.

Boyertown 3, Upper Perkiomen 2
Boyerville 1 0 1 1 -3
Higher perkiomen 2 0 0 0 – 2
first quarter
BT – Katelyn Dulin
Third quarter
BT – Katelyn Dulin
Fourth trimester
BT-Alaina Charlesworth (Katelyn Dulin)
Stops: Boyertown 9 (Sarah Yoder)

Spring-Ford 3, Methacton 2
Spring-Ford 0 0 1 2 – 3
Methactone 0 0 2 0 – 2
Third quarter
MT Avery Schwartz (Carmela Maro)
MT-Ceci Rehak (Elena Weychert)
SF-Julia Corropolese
Fourth trimester
SF-Nina Scott
SF-Nina Scott
Coins: MT 10, SF 10
Stops: MT 9 (Emily Drake 4, Natalie Drake 5). SF 12 (Kathryne McCreary)

Comments are closed.